The Awards Season Is Upon Us

Well, nearly, anyway. The deadline for nominations for the BSFA Awards is a couple of weeks or so away, and the BSFA has produced a helpful crowdsourced list of suggestions for members to consider when casting their vote.

I’ve only read one of the books on the list, but I’ve been reading reviews and talking to people, and I’m going to have a punt at what might be on the shortlist for the novel award.

A Man Lies Dreaming, Lavie Tidhar

Ancillary Sword, Ann Leckie

Bête, Adam Roberts

Descent, Ken MacLeod

Hive Monkey, Gareth L. Powell

J, Howard Jacobson

Southern Reach, Jeff Vandermeer

The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August, Claire North

The Martian, Andy Weir

The Mirror Empire, Kameron Hurley

The Race, Nina Allan

Tigerman, Nick Harkaway

Wolves, Simon Ings

I figure the shortlist will consist of books from this list. As I said, these are my guesses based on reviews and conversations with various people over the past year, rather than my own reading. My attempt at reading the zeitgeist, I guess. It’d be nice if Europe In Autumn was in there too, but I didn’t put it on the list in case I jinxed it. You can get back to me at the beginning of February and berate/scorn/laugh at me for getting it wrong.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

